Alan I. Fields Award

Alan I. Fields Award submissions now open! Please submit your abstracts HERE


On November 18, 2009, the Society of Critical Care Medicine (SCCM) Texas Chapter honored Alan I. Fields MD, FAAP, FCCM, with the Lifetime Achievement Award for his invaluable contributions to critical care medicine and to the Society. Dr. Fields graduated from SUNY Downstate Medical Center in 1970. He completed his Internship/Residency in Pediatrics at Johns Hopkins University in 1972 followed by a Pediatric Critical Care Fellowship in 1975 at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center. Dr. Fields then served as an Assistant Professor at George Washington University in Washington, D.C. where he became a Professor in 1990. He later worked as an Adjunct Professor at the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences F. Edward Hebert School of Medicine in Bethesda, MD. Subsequently, he pioneered the Pediatric Critical Care Program at The University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer Center in Houston, Texas.

Dr. Alan I. Fields Receives the 'Life Time Achievement Award'
Dr. Alan I. Fields Receives the "Life Time Achievement Award"

Dr. Fields has received numerous awards throughout his career, including the Golden Apple Award at the Children’s Hospital in Washington, D.C. in 1977 and the Physician Recognition Award from the American Medical Association in 1978. In 1989, he became a Fellow of the American College of Critical Care Medicine. In 1993, he received the Shubin-Weil Award for Excellence from the SCCM, and in 2009, he received the SCCM Distinguished Service Award. Additionally, Dr. Fields was a productive researcher and a dedicated professional servant.

Dr. Alan Fields retired from his lifelong profession and passion of pediatric critical care medicine in 2009.

In recognition of his many accomplishments and contributions, the SCCM Texas Chapter has founded two annual awards in his name.

Eligibility Criteria

The Alan I. Fields Award is to be presented to two members of the critical care profession for their scholarly work. Practitioners from all disciplines of Critical Care Medicine who fulfill the criteria listed below are encouraged to apply.

  • Current membership in SCCM Texas Chapter
  • Critical care medicine research (all disciplines) completed within the previous 12 months
  • Abstract accepted by SCCM for presentation at up-coming Annual Congress

There will be two Alan I. Fields Awards presented each year.

  • One awarded to a critical care trainee or practitioner with < 2 years experience
  • One awarded to a practitioner with 2 or more years of experience

Selection Process

The Alan I. Fields Award winners will be selected by the Awards Committee through a competitive selection process. Please pay attention to the submission deadline for a given year.

It should be noted that the Alan I. Fields Award is contingent upon acceptance of the submitted abstract by the SCCM for presentation at their up-coming Annual Congress. If the Alan I. Fields Awards committee selects a recipient but the recipient’s abstract is not accepted for presentation by SCCM, the Award will not be granted.

Alan I. Fields Award Recipients

Recipients of the Alan I. Fields Award will receive up to $1000 to be utilized for attending the SCCM Annual Congress. This is intended to offset the expenses of travel, lodging, and food. Costs for leisurely activities and alcohol will not be reimbursed. In order for recipients to be reimbursed, all original receipts must be submitted to the Treasurer of SCCM Texas Chapter within 30 days of returning from congress. Winners will be reimbursed only upon completion of their presentation and submission of itemized receipts.

Alan I. Fields Award Recipient Obligations

Recipients are expected to present their scholarly work via poster or platform presentation at the SCCM Annual Congress. Additionally, recipients are expected to present their work at the end of the year SCCM Texas Chapter meeting in February or March.